THE JURY

NBJ-foto%20Birgitte%20Rub%C3%A6k-120%20k

Niels Borch Jensen

Niels Borch Jensen’s interest in graphics and printmaking started at an early age. As a trained printmaker, he worked for international print studios in Denmark, USA, and Spain. In 1979,

he opened his own printmaking for copperplate printing in Copenhagen and established himself through competence and uncompromising quality as an internationally sought-after expert. He owns a gallery with focus on fine art prints in Berlin, and give guest lectures on the subject of graphics.

 

2007– 2016, he was Art Basel selection committee advisor for the sector Editions.

Portrait%20CFeser_edited.jpg

Christiane Feser

Christiane Feser is an artist from Frankfurt am Main. In her works, that moves in the brink between photography and object, she questions the human versus the photographic view. Her works are represented by the galleries Anita Beckers in Frankfurt am Main, Von Lintel Gallery in Los Angeles, and thr Gitterman Gallery in New York.

She was one of the first artists to be supported by the Paper Residency ! program.

Since 2017, she is also a jury member.

Portrait%20Carolin%20Leistenschne%20ider

Carolin Leistenschneider

Carolin Leistenschneider is a galerist and partner at Haverkampf Gallery based in Berlin. After studying art history in Oxford, Freiburg, Madrid and Berlin, she began her gallery career in 2004 at Galerie König and Jablonka Galerie in Cologne and Berlin before joining the gallery Contemporary Fine Arts, where she held a directing position from 2010 to 2020.

 

Since 2017, jury member for the

Paper Residency !

Franziska_v_Hasselbach_01_edited.jpg

Franziska von Hasselbach

Franziska von Hasselbach is Senior Director at Galerie Sprüth Magers in Berlin.

Already during her art history studies in Cologne, she began her gallery career at Tanja Grunert in

New York in 2000, and joining Sprüth Magers in Cologne in 2001. The opening of the gallery’s new Berlin branch in 2008 led her to Berlin, where she has been heading the gallery

to this day.

 

Since 2018, jury member for

Paper Residency !

IMG_1896_edited.jpg

Marie-Catherine Vogt

Marie-Catherine Vogt, M.A. is Sales Director at Galerie Esther Schipper in Berlin. After studying art history in Passau and Barcelona, she worked for several years as Business Getter for Christie’s auction house. From 2008 until 2012, she was Director at Heiner Bastian Fine Art in Berlin, where she curated numerous exhibitions for their exhibition space “Am Kupfergraben“.

From 2012 until 2019, she headed the Berlin branch of the London art gallery BlainSouthern.

She also taught at the University in Passau.

Since 2018, she is a jury member for 

Paper Residency !

valeria_schulte-fischedick_c_peter_rosem

Valeria

Schulte-Fischedick

Valeria Schulte-Fischedick is currently heading the International Studio Programme at Künstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin. Her latest project there was the curation of the upcoming group exhibition Swimming Pool – Troubled Waters. After finishing her art history studies at Humbold University Berlin, she worked, among others, for the exhibition Louise Bourgeois – Intime Abstraktionen, at Akademie der Künste, Berlin. 2010 until 2013, she was Director at Galerie Opdahl in Berlin. She has published contributions in art journals and exhibition catalogs.

Annette Berr

for d'mage

Director at d’mage, founder and executive manager at d’mage-light, Paper Residency! and the museum Haus des Papiers.
Passionate about art, literature, people. She released numerous books and records and, for decades, toured with different performances all across the country. Recipient of nominations, awards, and scholarships. A turning point led to a re-orientation. Since 2009, she has been running the Fine Art-Print manufacture d’mage and creating impulses all around its cultural network.

ann-kristin-nohlen_edited.jpg

Ann-Kristin Nohlen

for Hahnemühle

Ann Kristin Nohlen is Head of Marketing and Communications at the renowned paper manufacturer Hahnemühle. 

 

After several engagements for known branded-goods companies, the art and design enthusiast marketeer has been working at the Hahnemühle company since 2013.

Wilko van Oostrum

für Canon

Wilko Van Oostrum's life has always been closely linked to photography, and later also to fine art printing. His career began with a successfully completed Bachelor of Professional Photography. Many more stations followed, including at various photography manufacturers, as well as those of all of the associated hardware, forming him into an insider with a keen eye. From analog image material to  worlds of digital images, nothing is alien to him.
Due to his long association with large format printing, there is also no fear of really big size pictures.
"The technology is only the vehicle to create a statement through image."

Gast-Jury der Sponsoren

Guest Jury for the cooperating partners

Kristian%20Jarmuschek%20und%20Heinrich%2

Kristian Jarmuschek &

Heinrich Carstens

The Directors Kristian Jarmuschek and Heinrich Carstens founded and run the international art fairs POSITIONS Berlin Art Fair and paper positions. Kristian Jarmuschek is a gallery owner and chairman of the Bundesverband Deutscher Galerien und Kunsthändler e.V. (Association of German Galleries and Art Dealers).

Heinrich Carstens was a gallery owner and director of several internationally renowned galleries (including Galerie

Giti Nourbakhsch and Galerie Barbara Thumm). The paper positions art fairs are characterized by a wide range of artworks by renowned names and artistic newcomers, dedicated to the medium of paper in all its facets and fragility. The art fairs of paper positions take place once a year in Berlin, Basel, Munich and Frankfurt and are market leaders in this segment in the German-speaking countries.

AWARD ASSESSMENT CRITERIA

The participation at the upcoming art fair paper positions berlin, August, 19–22, 2021 (i.e. via your representing gallery) is an obligatory requirement for a nomination. All works of contemporary art, physically presented at the art fair and meeting the assessment criteria, will be evaluated by the jury.

 

There are no age restrictions for the participating artists.

 

There are no restrictions for place of residence and origin. 

The PAPER ART AWARD will honor artworks with an outstanding, inspiring, and original take on paper as material.

The evaluation will be guided by the following aspects: artistic quality, originality, innovative executive approach, potential, possibilities for artistic growth. The art, and the artwork respectively, is able to give impulses and sharpen our awareness for what motivates us. 

The artworks must comply with at least one of the following criteria:

  • Being sculptural or three-dimensional paper art. 

  • Being artistically transformed or processed paper.

  • Being artistically transformed or artistically processed drawings, paintings, or prints. 

Expressly not included in these criteria are drawings, paintings, or prints as such, NOT transformed or processed in any artistic ways.

With the prize money, the award-winning artworks, and other works by the awarded artists respectively, will be purchased by the paper art museum Haus des Papiers for their future presentation to the public in the museum.

DIE JURY

NBJ-foto%20Birgitte%20Rub%C3%A6k-120%20k

Niels Borch Jensen

Niels Borch Jensens Interesse für Druckgrafik begann schon früh. Als ausgebildeter Drucker arbeitete er bei internationalen Studios in Dänemark, Spanien und den USA. In 1979 öffnete er eine eigene Druckwerkstatt für Kupferdruck in Kopenhagen und wurde durch seine Fachkompetenz und kompromisslose Qualität zu einem international gefragten Experten. Er führt eine eigene Galerie für Grafik in Berlin und ist Gastdozent im Bereich Druckgrafik.

Von 2007 bis 2016 war er Berater der Auswahlkommission der Art Basel für den Sektor Editions.

Portrait%20CFeser_edited.jpg

Christiane Feser

Christiane Feser ist eine bildende Künstlerin aus Frankfurt am Main. In ihren Werken, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Fotografie und Objekt angesiedelt sind, setzt sie sich mit menschlichem versus fotografischem Sehen auseinander.

Sie wird vertreten von den Galerien Anita Beckers in Frankfurt am Main, Von Lintel Gallery in Los Angeles und Gitterman Gallery in New York.

 

Feser war eine der ersten Künstler:innen, die durch eine Paper Residency unterstützt wurden, und ist seit 2017 selbst als Jury-Mitglied aktiv.

Portrait%20Carolin%20Leistenschne%20ider

Carolin Leistenschneider

Carolin Leistenschneider ist Galeristin und als Partnerin bei der Haverkampf Galerie in Berlin tätig. Nach ihrem Studium der Kunstgeschichte in Oxford, Freiburg, Madrid und Berlin begann sie ihre Galerielaufbahn 2004 bei Galerien König und Jablonka in Köln und Berlin. Von 2010 bis 2020 war ie als Direktorin für die Galerie Contemporary Fine Arts in Berlin tätig war. 

 

Seit 2017 ist sie Jury-Mitglied für die 

Paper Residencies. 

Franziska_v_Hasselbach_01_edited.jpg

Franziska von Hasselbach

Franziska von Hasselbach ist Senior Direktorin der Galerie Sprüth Magers in Berlin.
Noch während ihres Kunstgeschichtsstudiums in Köln begann sie ihre Galerielaufbahn 2000 bei Tanja Grunert in New York, bevor sie in 2001 zur Galerie Sprüth Magers in Köln wechselte. Als 2008 eine weitere Galerieniederlassung in Berlin eröffnet wurde, führte sie ihr Weg nach Berlin,

wo sie die Galerie bis heute leitet.

 

Seit 2018 ist sie Jury-Mitglied für die 

Paper Residencies.

IMG_1896_edited.jpg

Marie-Catherine Vogt

Marie-Catherine Vogt, M.A. ist Sales Director bei  Esther Schipper Galerie in Berlin. Nach ihrem Kunstgeschichtsstudium in Passau und Barcelona arbeitete sie u.a. als Business Getter beim Auktionshaus Christie’s. Von 2008 bis 2012 war sie Direktorin bei Heiner Bastian Fine Art in Berlin, für deren Ausstellungsraum „Am Kupfergraben“ sie zahlreiche Ausstellungen kuratierte. Von 2012 bis 2019 leitete sie die Berliner Dependance der Londoner Galerie BlainSouthern. Zudem lehrte sie an der Universität Passau.

 

Seit 2017 ist sie Jury-Mitglied für die 

Paper Residencies.

valeria_schulte-fischedick_c_peter_rosem

Valeria

Schulte-Fischedick

Valeria Schulte-Fischedick ist aktuell für das Internationale Atelierprogramm im Künstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin verantwortlich. Zuletzt kuratierte sie dort die kommende Gruppen-ausstellung Swimming Pool – Troubled Waters. Nach ihrem Studium der Kunstgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin war sie u.a. 2003 an der Ausstellung Louise Bourgeois – Intime Abstraktionen an der Akademie der Künste, Berlin beteiligt. Von 2010 bis 2013 war sie Direktorin der Galerie Opdahl in Berlin. Sie hat zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen in Kunstzeitschriften und Katalogen.

Annette Berr

für d'mage

Direktorin von d’mage, Gründerin und Leiterin von d’mage-light, Paper Residency ! und dem Verein Haus des Papiers.
Mit Freude an Kunst, Literatur und Menschen. Hat zahlreiche Bücher und CDs veröffentlicht und jahrzehntelang mit Auftritten durch die Republik getourt. Erhielt Nominierungen, Auszeichnungen und Stipendien. Eine Zäsur führte zur Neu-Orientierung. Seit 2009 ist sie Direktorin und Impulsgeberin in dem Kultur-Geflecht rund um die Manufaktur d’mage.

ann-kristin-nohlen_edited.jpg

Ann Kristin Nohlen

für Hahnemühle

Ann Kristin Nohlen verantwortet als Director Marketing das Product Management sowie die Unternehmenskommunikation des Traditionspapierherstellers Hahnemühle.

Nach mehreren Stationen bei namhaften Markenartiklern ist die kunst- und designbegeisterte Marketeer seit 2013 für die Firma Hahnemühle tätig.

Wilko van Oostrum

für Canon

Wilko Van Oostrums Leben war immer eng mit der Fotografie und später auch dem FineArt-Print verbunden. Seine Laufbahn begann mit einem erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Bachelor Professional Fotografie. Viele Stationen folgten, u. a. bei verschiedenen Herstellern von Fotografien, aber auch der gesamten dazugehörenden Hardware, so dass er ein Insider mit geschärftem Blick wurde. Von analogem Bildmaterial, bis zu digitalen Bilderwelten ist ihm nichts fremd. 

Durch seine lange Verbundenheit mit dem Großformatdruck gibt es auch keine Angst vor richtig großen Bildern. 

„Die Technik ist nur das Vehikel, um eine Bildaussage zu kreieren.“

Gast-Jury der Sponsoren

Gast-Jury der Kooperationspartner

Kristian%20Jarmuschek%20und%20Heinrich%2

Kristian Jarmuschek &

Heinrich Carstens

Die Direktoren Kristian Jarmuschek und Heinrich Carstens gründeten und leiten die internationalen Kunstmessen POSITIONS Berlin Art Fair und paper positions.
Kristian Jarmuschek ist Galerist und Vorsitzender des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Galerien und Kunsthändler e.V.
Heinrich Carstens war Galerist und Direktor einiger international renommierter Galerien (u.a. Galerie Giti Nourbakhsch und Galerie Barbara Thumm). Die paper positions kennzeichnet eine große Bandbreite an Kunstwerken renommierter Namen und künstlerischer Newcomer, die sich dem Medium Papier in all seinen Facetten und seiner Fragilität widmen. Die Kunstmessen der paper positions finden einmal jährlich in Berlin, Basel, München und Frankfurt am Main statt und sind in diesem Segment Marktführer im deutschsprachigen Raum.

VERGABEKRITERIEN

Die Teilnahme an der kommenden Kunstmesse paper positions berlin, 19.–22. August 2021 (z.b. über die eigene Galerie) ist die unbedingte Voraussetzung für eine Nominierung. Alle zeitgenössischen Werke, die physisch auf der Messe präsent sind und die Vergabekriterien erfüllen, werden von der Jury bewertet.

 

Es gibt keine Altersbeschränkung für die teilnehmenden Künstler:innen.

Es gibt keine Beschränkung auf Wohn- oder Herkunftsorte.

Durch PAPER ART AWARD wird Papierkunst ausgezeichnet, die sich in herausragender, impulsgebender und eigenständiger Weise mit dem Werkstoff Papier auseinandersetzt. 

Folgende Merkmale fließen in die Bewertung mit ein: künstlerische Qualität, Eigenständigkeit, innovative Praxis, Potential, Möglichkeiten der künstlerischen Weiterentwicklung. Die Kunst bzw. das Werk kann Anregungen geben, und die Wahrnehmung für das, was uns bewegt, schärfen. 

Für die Auszeichnung müssen die Kunstwerke mindestens eine der hier folgenden Kriterien erfüllen:

  • Es handelt sich um skulpturale oder dreidimensionale Papierkunst.

  • Es handelt sich um künstlerisch bearbeitetes oder künstlerisch verarbeitetes Papier.

  • Es handelt sich um künstlerisch bearbeitete oder verarbeitete Zeichnungen, Malereien oder Prints.

Ausdrücklich nicht unter diese Kriterien fallen Zeichnungen, Malereien oder Prints, die NICHT künstlerisch bearbeitet oder verarbeitet wurden​.

Das Preisgeld wird für Kunst-Ankäufe der ausgezeichneten Werke bzw. Werke der ausgezeichneten Künstler:innen durch das Papierkunst-Museum Haus des Papiers verwendet, um sie in den Museumsräumlichkeiten der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.