top of page
DSC_4809.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD 2024

Leonie Mertes
Vetretung: Galerie Heike Strelow
Rikuo Ueda
Vetretung: Mikiko Sato Gallery
Asareh Akasheh
Vertretung: Schultheiss collection
Hiroyuki Abe
Vetretrung: Mikiko Sato Gallery
Noriko Ambe
Vetretung: Galerie aoa_87_art

PAPER ART AWARD 2023

UrsulaSax©Bothor2017_edited.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN GOLD

URSULA SAX

Ursula Sax, born in Backnang, Baden-Württemberg in 1935, is an icon of sculpture. She began her studies in sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts in Stuttgart at the age of 15, which she supplemented with further studies with Hans Uhlmann in Berlin from 1955 to 60. She was part of international solo and group exhibitions and created numerous works related to architecture and urban space. Furthermore, she held guest professorships at the Hochschule der Künste in Berlin and professorships in Braunschweig and Dresden from 1990 to 2000. Her work from and on paper was honoured in 2021 by a large solo exhibition at Semjon Contemporary and by the same-named publication "Ursula Sax - aus und auf Papier". 

 

Ursula Sax worked with a wide range of materials throughout her creative period. In doing so, she elicited typical properties from each, while simultaneously experimenting with and exploring the limits of the materials. Her work transcends media and ranges from stone, bronze, iron and stainless steel to porcelain and wool. In particular, her approach to sculptural work in relation to the surrounding space, thinking around the corner, in which the sculpture is developed from all sides, is one of the best known features of Sax's work since the late 1950s. 

PAPER ART AWARD
IN SILBER

GISOO KIM

Born in Korea, Gisoo Kim studied sculpture in Seoul and then moved to Germany at the age of 24.

 

She then devoted herself to studying free art in Hamburg and Düsseldorf. The artist has already participated in numerous exhibitions in Germany as well as internationally, and has received awards for her art. 


In her works, Gisoo Kim combines spatial paper works with net-like and fine structures. After printing, she works on her photographs with needle and thread to put the two-dimensional effect into a new context.
When creating new realities, it is important to her to sew the individual pictorial objects by hand and to create connections to each other that did not exist before. In the process, new levels and structures emerge that complete her works in an extraordinary way.

Gisoo-Kim-Portrait_01.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD 2023

Portrait_Sard_edited.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN SILBER

AMPARO SARD

Amparo Sard was born in Mallorca, Spain in 1976. She studied both in Barcelona, Spain and in New York, USA. She has been honoured internationally with several awards and won the Silver Paper Art Award at Paper Positions 2023 for her spiked paper work. 

In her development as an artist, she explored the new workings of modernity. In particular, the extent to which the human being is pushed to its limits in order to cope with the ever rapidly evolving environment. Her later work involved a range of media and materials. She created large fibreglass installations as well as aluminium sculptures, worked with epoxy resin as well as videos and sculptures made from recycled plastic to create images.

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

Ken'ichiro Taniguchi (谷口 顕一郎)

The artist Ken'ichiro Taniguchi was born in 1976 in Sapporo, Japan. He lives and works in Berlin and Sapporo. He has established himself as an international artist through numerous groups as well as solo exhibitions. 


At Paper Position 2023, where the artist received the Bronze Paper Art Award, Mikiko Sato Gallery showed a series of works on paper that Taniguchi has been pursuing since 2006.
Ken'ichiro Taniguchi unfolds cracks from public spaces. Whether in the form of furrows in the asphalt or "valleys" dug into the plaster of walls, the source material that has been shaped into cracks is translated into spatial sculptures in a technically and technically complex process. The "Hecomi", as they are called in Japanese, have been the focus of the Berlin-based Japanese artist's work since 2000.

Ken_Portrait-1.jpg
DettmerPortrait2022BW.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

Brian Dettmer

Brian Dettmer was born in Chicago in the United States in 1974. He is one of the leading artists in the global art space, working with sculpturally transformed books. His work has been shown in a total of 25 solo exhibitions over the last 20 years, in international galleries and institutions.


At the beginning of his process, he closes the edges of the book. He then works his way through the pages from the front of the book using knives, tweezers and surgical tools. Through precise cutting work, Brian Dettmer creates abstract scenarios within the books and transforms the object into media masterpieces. Through the diversity of his motifs, he moves away from the decorative and gives the books a new space to exist. Whether coloured or black and white, his colour palette is indeterminate. 

Artist statement:

Information is the raw material of today. We have an overabundance of text and imagery constantly at our fingertips. In digital media, it is often as fleeting as it is abundant, but when information is put in print we have a stronger sense of its relation to history and its stability for the future. In my work, I question this stability and ask what erasure and loss could look like through the lens of printed matter. Reference books have become almost extinct in less than one generation and we are at a pivotal time in the way we record and distribute facts. Without a stable home to rest in, our agreed truths have been uprooted and are now subject to distortions, erasures, and intentional manipulations.

 

Through a meticulous process of sculptural excavation, I explore the inner contents of vintage books that have often been relegated to collecting dust or headed for a landfill. The work is both archival and anti-archival. It is a creation through consumption, an exposure through erasure. These sculptures break down historic narratives to offer a compression of ideas through a single surface, embracing us with a desire to reconstruct. This abundance of fragmented history reminds us that we are just one part of the bigger picture, as fleeting as the media we create and as permanent as the ideas we surround ourselves with.

PAPER ART AWARD 2022

Afshan Daneshvar B&W.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN GOLD

AFSHAN DANESHVAR

Afshan Daneshvar (geb. 1972 in Teheran) ist eine in San Francisco lebende bildende Künstlerin.


Afshans meditative Arbeiten sind von Siah-mashgh, persischen kalligrafischen Übungsblättern, inspiriert - eine Kunst in der sie ihr Vater unterrichtete. Wörter und Buchstaben werden ohne Rücksicht auf ihre Bedeutung wiederholt, um Perfektion zu erreichen. Seit 2015 erforscht sie das Medium Papier.
In Afshans Arbeiten gibt es einen direkten Dialog zwischen Inhalt und Form. Wiederholung ist die Essenz ihrer Werke, und durch Wiederholung verbindet sie Vergangenheit und Zukunft. Die Gegenwart wird ständig in den Vordergrund gebracht.
Sie hat an zahlreichen Ausstellungen in Europa und im Nahen Osten teilgenommen und wird derzeit von der O Gallery in Teheran vertreten.

PAPER ART AWARD
IN SILBER

GOEKHAN ERDOGAN

Goekhan Erdogan was born in Frankfurt am Main Höchst in 1978 as the son of Turkish immigrants and grew up in simple working-class conditions. After several attempts, he completed his art studies with an academy diploma at the HFBK Frankfurt am Main in 2008, obtained a diploma with distinction at the HFG Offenbach in 2012, where he deepened his engagement with media-sociological post-structural texts in a postgraduate course in 2014.

Since 2009, he has been regularly represented in exhibitions at home and abroad, e.g. in 2009 at the then Berlin-based Galerie Feinkost with Dorothee Iannone, Mike Kelley, among others, or in 2012 in Bergamo at the Galerie Thomas Brambilla, whose programme includes the historical artist Lynda Benglis, Klaus Rinke and the Kandinsky Prize winner Anatoly Osmolowsky.

Recently, he has taken part more consistently in exhibitions in art associations and museums. The latter are often occupied with sculptural self-portraits made of paper, which negotiate the dissolving identity of metropolitan individuals in the form of photo objects, paper reliefs or photo sculpture.

Erdogan is currently represented by the Heike Strelow Gallery in Frankfurt am Main.

goekhan_edited.jpg
Aja_040920_16 B&W.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

AJA VON LOEPER

Aja von Loeper (born 1971 in Leonberg-Warmbronn ) studied fine art painting at the Academy of Fine Arts Nuremberg. She has been represented in numerous solo and group exhibitions at museums and galleries in Europe and Asia, including Haus der Kunst Munich, Albrecht Dürer Haus Nuremberg, Stadtmuseum Erlangen, Museum Rijkswijk (NL) and Fengxian Museum Shanghai (CN). Aja von Loeper has received several prizes and awards. She is represented by Galerie Wichtendahl in Berlin, among others.


Aja von Loeper needs a white sheet of paper, flat cardboard underneath and a wooden tool she has developed to create her relief-like "White Sheets". She works on the paper with great force and sensitivity, compressing it with her tool until it curves, partially revealing its structures and revealing the inner, radiant white of the paper. The sheet becomes a relief with an intangible plasticity. The different textures form delicate shades of chiaroscuro in dialogue with the light. Aja von Loeper's "White Sheets" appear quiet and fragile, at the same time weighty and powerful.

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

LISA TIEMANN

Lisa Tiemann (*1981 in Kassel) is a sculptor based in Berlin. Her sculptural works stretch themselves, they bend and arch, and interact – with their surroundings, with the beholders, and with each other. In the series COUPLES that Lisa Tiemann has been developing since 2016 she engages with the tension between two elements of different materiality and explores the limits of material properties, stability, and gravity. This subject is the focus of her artistic practice. She questions our understanding of connection as fractures, gaps, and shifts are fundamental elements of her understanding of unity. Tiemann’s sculptures are developed from a drawn gesture: a simple line that develops through several preliminary studies and in the end is translated from paper into space. She earned her master’s degree from Universität der Künste in Berlin where she studied from 2022 to 2008. Her works have been exhibited at Kommunale Galerie and Haus am Lützowplatz, Berlin, Gewerbemuseum, Winterthur, Halberstadt Biennale, Stephanie Kelly, Dresden. Her work is currently on view at her gallery SCHWARZ CONTEMPORARY in Berlin and at lokal_30 in Warsaw. Outdoor sculptures have been shown at Skulpturenpark Schlosspark Stammheim in Cologne and at Skulpturenpark Eisenberg (AT). Her works will be part of the ruru Haus programme at this year's documenta fifteen (2022). 

Portrait Holger Niehaus_LisaTiemann 2021.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD 2021

FieneScharp_portrait_01©Christian Manthey.jpeg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN GOLD

FIENE SCHARP

Fiene Scharp (born 1984 in Berlin) studied Fine Arts and Literature at the UdK Berlin University of the Arts and the Humboldt University in Berlin. In 2012, she received the UdK President’s Fine Arts Award. She took part in numerous exhibitions in Europe, North America, and Asia, including Museum für Konkrete Kunst, Ingolstadt, Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, Kunsthalle Bremerhaven, London Center for Recent Drawing and Stedelijk Museum 's-Hertogenbosch (NL). Her works are part of public art collections such as Kupferstichkabinett (Museum of Prints and Drawings) of the Berlin State Museums or the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart.
Fiene Scharp has received several awards and grants, including a scholarship from the Else Heiliger Fund of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation and the Stiftung Kunstfonds. She is represented by the gallery Kuckei + Kuckei in Berlin.



Fiene Scharp, Artist Statement:
My work includes repetitive long-term drawings as well as detailed cut paper works and image objects that I regard in the context of the drawing.
The delicate structures hang unframed, in slight movement on the wall, and only stand out from the background through gradual shading.
I transfer two-dimensional raster drawings into three-dimensional space through the process of microscopical cut outs of the spaces in between.
My focus lies of the minimum variance in the repetition.

PAPER ART AWARD
IN SILBER

ASTRID BUSCH

Astrid Busch (born 1968 in Krefeld) studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg and the Berlin-Weißensee School of Art, where she was master student of Prof. Katharina Grosse. She took part in numerous solo and group exhibitions, including in Germany, France, Russia, the USA, and Brazil. Her works are in public art collections such as Kunststiftung NRW, Düsseldorf; Neuer Berliner Kunstverein and Museum of Technology, Berlin; Museum of Applied Art, Gera, the Artothek in Nuremberg.
Astrid Busch has received numerous awards and grants.
She is represented by the Rupert Pfab gallery in Düsseldorf.

Astrid Busch transforms rooms in their entirety, but takes a gentle and almost reserved approach in doing so. In her site-specific room installations, she combines photographs with a wide variety of materials – from her own images to archive finds. She assembles all of these parts into multimedia and multilayered productions, creating space-consuming works that look like a mosaic, and yet always remain site-specific.

 

Astrid_Busch_Foto_Emil_Zander_edited.jpg
ag_portrait_angela_02_edited.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

ANGELA GLAJCAR

Angela Glajcar (born 1970 in Mainz) studied Sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg and was master student of Tim Scott. Yet she soon broke away from classic materials such as steel and wood. Her works, based on the use of white sheets of paper, are unusual and bizarre and striking in their radical purism. (Margareta Sandhofer)
She has received numerous grants and awards such as the Mainz ZONTA Art Prize, the Emy Roeder Award, the Phönix Art Award or the Audience Award of the Regionale in the Wilhelm Hack Museum Ludwigshafen in 2010. Her works took part in solo and group exhibitions at museums, galleries and various cultural venues in Germany, Italy, the USA, and Hong Kong. She also realized several Percent for Art projects.
Angela Glajcar is represented by the Nanna Preußners gallery in Hamburg, among others.

Angela Glajcar creates flowing installations from torn paper webs, which gain a three-dimensional presence through layers and curves. Through the incident light, they develop into bodies that seem to shine from the inside. She tears holes in the middle of the strips, which allow views and depths of perspective in the spatial structure, or lets the straight and clean edges of the paper fray generously in order to expose the internal structure of the material. The interplay of light and shadow transforms the artworks into a multidimensional piece with an atmospheric effect. Contrasts such as lightness and weight, calm and dynamism, beauty and destruction get manifested within.

bottom of page

top of page
DSC_4809.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD 2024

Leonie Mertes
Vetretung: Galerie Heike Strelow
Rikuo Ueda
Vetretung: Mikiko Sato Gallery
Asareh Akasheh
Vertretung: Schultheiss collection
Hiroyuki Abe
Vetretrung: Mikiko Sato Gallery
Noriko Ambe
Vetretung: Galerie aoa_87_art

PAPER ART AWARD 2023

UrsulaSax©Bothor2017_edited.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN GOLD

URSULA SAX

Ursula Sax, wurde 1935 in Backnang, Baden-Württemberg geboren und ist eine Ikone der Bildhauerei. Bereits mit 15 Jahren begann sie ihr Studium für Bildhauerei an der Akademie für Bildende Kunst in Stuttgart, welches sie um ein weiteres Studium bei Hans Uhlmann von 1955 bis 60 in Berlin ergänzte. Sie war Teil internationaler Einzel- sowie Gruppenausstellungen und erschuf zahlreiche Architektur- und Stadtraum bezogene Arbeiten. Sie hielt Gastprofessuren an der Hochschule der Künste in Berlin sowie Professoren in Braunschweig und Dresden von 1990 bis 2000. Ihr Werk aus und auf Papier wurde 2021 durch eine große Einzelausstellung bei Semjon Contemporary und durch die namensgleiche umfassende Publikation "Ursula Sax – aus und auf Papier" gewürdigt. 

Ursula Sax beschäftigte sich in ihren Schaffensperioden mit einer weiten Bandbreite an Materialien. Dabei entlockte sie jedem typische Eigenschaften, während sie simultan mit den Grenzen der Stoffe experimentierte und diese erforschte. Ihre Arbeit ist medienübergreifend und erstreckt sich von Stein, Bronze, Eisen und Edelstahl bis hin zu Porzellan und Wolle. Insbesondere ihr Umgang mit skulpturaler Arbeit im Verhältnis zum umliegenden Raum, das Um-die-Ecke-Denken, in welcher die Skulptur von allen Seiten entwickelt wird, ist eines der bekanntesten Merkmale Saxs Arbeit seit den späten 50er Jahren. 

PAPER ART AWARD
IN SILBER

GISOO KIM

Gisoo Kim (geb. 1971 in Seoul) studierte Bildhauerei an der Seoul City University. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Essen.

In Hamburg und Düsseldorf widmete sie sich daraufhin dem Studium der Freien Kunst. Die Künstlerin hat bereits in zahlreichen Ausstellungen in Deutschland, wie auch international mitgewirkt, sowie Auszeichnungen für ihre Kunst verliehen bekommen. 

 

Gisoo Kim kombiniert in ihren Werken räumliche Papierarbeiten mit netzartigen und feinen Strukturen. Ihre Fotografien bearbeitet sie nach dem Druck mit Nadel und Faden, um die zweidimensionale Wirkung in einen neuen Kontext zu setzen.

Hierbei ist ihr beim Kreieren neuer Realitäten wichtig, die einzelnen Bildobjekte per Hand zu vernähen und Verbindungen zueinander zu schaffen, die zuvor nicht bestanden. Dabei entstehen neue Ebenen und Strukturen, die ihre Werke außergewöhnlich komplettieren.

Gisoo-Kim-Portrait_01.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD 2023

Portrait_Sard_edited.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN SILBER

AMPARO SARD

Amparo Sard wurde 1976 in Mallorca, Spanien geboren. Sie studierte sowohl in Barcelona, Spanien als auch in New York, USA. Sie wurde bereits im internationalen Raum, mit mehreren Auszeichnungen geehrt und gewann im Rahmen der Paper Positions 2023 den silbernen Paper Art Award für ihre zerstochene Papierarbeit. 

 

In Ihrer Entwicklung als Künstlerin erforschte sie das neue Wirken der Moderne. Insbesondere darüber, inwieweit der Mensch an dessen Grenzen gebracht wird, um mit dem stetig schnell entwickelndem Umfeld zurechtzukommen. In ihrem weiteren Werk arbeitete sie mit einer Bandbreite an Medien und Materialien. Sie schuf große Glasfaser Installationen sowie Aluminium-Skulpturen, arbeitete sowohl mit Epoxidharz als auch mit Videos und Skulpturen aus recyceltem Plastik um Bilder zu erschaffen.

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

Ken'ichiro Taniguchi (谷口 顕一郎)

Der Künstler Ken'ichiro Taniguchi, wurde 1976 in Sapporo, Japan geboren. Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Sapporo. Durch zahlreiche Gruppen sowie Einzelausstellungen etablierte er sich als internationaler Künstler. 

Auf der Paper Position 2023, wo der Künstler den Silbernen Paper Art Award erhielt, zeigte die Mikiko Sato Gallery eine Serie von Papierarbeiten, die Taniguchi seit 2006 verfolgt.

Ken'ichiro Taniguchi entfaltet Risse aus öffentlichen Räumen. Ob in Form von Furchen im Asphalt oder im Mauerputz eingegrabenen „Tälern”, das in Riss-Form gebrachte Ausgangsmaterial, wird in einem technisch sowie handwerklich aufwändigen Verfahren in räumliche Skulpturen übersetzt. Die Hecomi, so der japanische Ausdruck dafür, stehen seit 2000 im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit des in Berlin lebenden, japanischen Künstlers.

Ken_Portrait-1.jpg
DettmerPortrait2022BW.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

Brian Dettmer

Brian Dettmer wurde 1974 in Chicago in den Vereinigten Staaten geboren. Er ist einer der führenden Künstler im weltweiten Kunstraum, der sich mit skulptural veränderten Büchern beschäftigt. Seine Werke waren in insgesamt 25 Einzelausstellungen über die letzten 20 Jahre, in internationalen Galerien und Institutionen zu sehen. Während der paper positions-Kunstmesse wurde er von der Galerie Commeter vertreten.

Zu Beginn seines Prozesses verschließt er die Ränder des Buches. Im Folgenden arbeitet er sich von der Vorderseite des Buches und mit der Hilfe von Messern, Pinzetten und chirurgischem Werkzeug durch die einzelnen Seiten. Durch präzise Schnittarbeit erschafft Brian Dettmer abstrakte Szenarien innerhalb der Bücher und verändert den Gegenstand zu medialen Meisterwerken. Durch die Vielfältigkeit seiner Motive entfernt er sich vom Dekorativen und gibt den Büchern einen neuen Raum zum Existieren. Ob koloriert oder Schwarz weiß, seine Farbpalette ist unbestimmt. 

Artist statement:

Information is the raw material of today. We have an overabundance of text and imagery constantly at our fingertips. In digital media, it is often as fleeting as it is abundant, but when information is put in print we have a stronger sense of its relation to history and its stability for the future. In my work, I question this stability and ask what erasure and loss could look like through the lens of printed matter. Reference books have become almost extinct in less than one generation and we are at a pivotal time in the way we record and distribute facts. Without a stable home to rest in, our agreed truths have been uprooted and are now subject to distortions, erasures, and intentional manipulations.

 

Through a meticulous process of sculptural excavation, I explore the inner contents of vintage books that have often been relegated to collecting dust or headed for a landfill. The work is both archival and anti-archival. It is a creation through consumption, an exposure through erasure. These sculptures break down historic narratives to offer a compression of ideas through a single surface, embracing us with a desire to reconstruct. This abundance of fragmented history reminds us that we are just one part of the bigger picture, as fleeting as the media we create and as permanent as the ideas we surround ourselves with.

PAPER ART AWARD 2022

Afshan Daneshvar B&W.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN GOLD

AFSHAN DANESHVAR

Afshan Daneshvar (geb. 1972 in Teheran) ist eine in San Francisco lebende bildende Künstlerin.


Afshans meditative Arbeiten sind von Siah-mashgh, persischen kalligrafischen Übungsblättern, inspiriert - eine Kunst in der sie ihr Vater unterrichtete. Wörter und Buchstaben werden ohne Rücksicht auf ihre Bedeutung wiederholt, um Perfektion zu erreichen. Seit 2015 erforscht sie das Medium Papier.
In Afshans Arbeiten gibt es einen direkten Dialog zwischen Inhalt und Form. Wiederholung ist die Essenz ihrer Werke, und durch Wiederholung verbindet sie Vergangenheit und Zukunft. Die Gegenwart wird ständig in den Vordergrund gebracht.
Sie hat an zahlreichen Ausstellungen in Europa und im Nahen Osten teilgenommen und wird derzeit von der O Gallery in Teheran vertreten.

PAPER ART AWARD
IN SILBER

GOEKHAN ERDOGAN

Goekhan Erdogan ist 1978 in Frankfurt am Main Höchst als Sohn türkischer Einwanderer geboren und in schlichten Arbeiterverhältnissen aufgewachsen. Nach mehreren Anläufen beendet er 2008 sein Kunststudium mit Akademiebrief an der HFBK Frankfurt am Main, erlangt 2012 ein Diplom mit Auszeichnung an der HFG Offenbach, wo er 2014 in einem Aufbaustudium die Auseinandersetzung mit mediensoziologischen poststrukturalen Texten vertieft.

 

Seit 2009 ist er regelmässig in Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland vertreten, z.B. 2009 in der damals in Berlin ansässigen Galerie Feinkost u.a. mit Dorothee Iannone, Mike Kelley oder 2012 in Bergamo in der Galerie Thomas Brambilla, die u.a. die historische Künstlerin Lynda Benglis, Klaus Rinke und den Kandinsky Preisträger Anatoly Osmolowsky zu ihrem Programm zählt.

 

In jüngster Zeit kommen konsistenter Ausstellungen in Kunstvereinen und Museen hinzu. Letztere bespielt er häufig mit skulpturalen Selbstportraits aus dem Werkstoff Papier, welche in Form von Fotoobjekten, Papierreliefs oder Fotoskulptur die in Auflösung befindliche Identität von metropolitschen Individuen verhandeln.

 

Momentan wird Erdogan durch die in Frankfurt am Main situierte Galerie Heike Strelow vertreten.

goekhan_edited.jpg
Aja_040920_16 B&W.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

AJA VON LOEPER

Aja von Loeper (geb. 1971 in Leonberg-Warmbronn ) studierte Freie Malerei an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg. Sie war in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen von Museen und Galerien in Europa und Asien vertreten, u.a. im Haus der Kunst München, Albrecht-Dürer-Haus Nürnberg, Stadtmuseum Erlangen, Museum Rijkswijk (NL) und im Fengxian Museum Shanghai (CN). Aja von Loeper erhielt mehrere Preise und Auszeichnungen. Sie wird u. a. von der Galerie Wichtendahl in Berlin vertreten. 

 

Ein weißes Blatt Papier, eine darunterliegende plane Pappe und ein von ihr entwickeltes Werkzeug aus Holz benötigt Aja von Loeper, um ihre reliefartigen „Weißen Blätter“ entstehen zu lassen. Mit viel Kraft und Feingefühl arbeitet sie auf dem Papier, verdichtet es mit ihrem Werkzeug bis es sich wölbt, seine Strukturen teilweise offen legt und das innere, strahlende Weiß des Papiers enthüllt. Das Blatt wird zum Relief mit einer unfassbaren Plastizität. Die verschiedenen Texturen bilden im Dialog mit dem Licht zarte Helldunkel-Schattierungen aus. Aja von Loepers „Weißen Blätter“ wirken still und fragil, zugleich massiv und kraftvoll.

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

LISA TIEMANN

Lisa Tiemann (*1981 in Kassel) ist eine in Berlin lebende Bildhauerin. Ihre skulpturalen Arbeiten strecken sich, sie biegen und wölben sich und interagieren – mit ihrer Umgebung, mit den Betrachtenden und miteinander. In der Serie COUPLES, die Lisa Tiemann seit 2016 entwickelt, setzt sie sich mit der Spannung zwischen zwei Elementen unterschiedlicher Materialitäten auseinander und lotet die Grenzen von Materialeigenschaften, Stabilität und Schwerkraft aus. Dieses Thema steht im Mittelpunkt ihrer künstlerischen Praxis. Sie hinterfragt unser Verständnis von Verbindung mit Brüchen Lücken und Verschiebungen, die grundlegende Elemente ihres Verständnisses von Einheit sind. Tiemanns Skulpturen entstehen aus einer gezeichneten Geste: einer einfachen Linie, die sich über mehrere Vorstudien entwickelt und schließlich vom Papier in den Raum übersetzt wird. Als Meisterschülerin an der Universität der Künste in Berlin schloss sie 2008 ihr Studium ab. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in der Kommunalen Galerie und im Haus am Lützowplatz, Berlin, im Gewerbemuseum, Winterthur, bei der Halberstadt Biennale und bei Stephanie Kelly, Dresden ausgestellt. Zur Zeit sind in ihrer Berliner Galerie SCHWARZ CONTEMPORARY und bei lokal_30 in Warschau Arbeiten von ihr in Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen. Außenskulpturen wurden im Skulpturenpark Schlosspark Stammheim in Köln und im Skulpturenpark Eisenberg (AT) gezeigt. Auf der diesjährigen documenta fünfzehn (2022) werden ihre Arbeiten im Rahmen des Programms des ruru Hauses gezeigt. 

Portrait Holger Niehaus_LisaTiemann 2021.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD 2021

FieneScharp_portrait_01©Christian Manthey.jpeg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN GOLD

FIENE SCHARP

Fiene Scharp (geb. 1984 in Berlin) studierte Bildende Kunst und Literatur an der Universität der Künste und der Humboldt-Universität in Berlin und erhielt 2012 den Meisterschülerpreis des Präsidenten der Universität der Künste. Sie nahm an zahlreichen Ausstellungen in Europa, Nordamerika und Asien teil, u.a. im Museum für Konkrete Kunst, Ingolstadt, im Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, in der Kunsthalle Bremerhaven, im Londoner Centre for Recent Drawing sowie im Stedelijk Museum 's-Hertogenbosch (NL). Ihre Arbeiten sind in öffentlichen Sammlungen wie dem Kupferstichkabinett der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin oder dem Kunstmuseum Stuttgart vertreten.

Fiene Scharp erhielt mehrere Preise und Stipendien, unter anderem war sie Stipendiatin des Else-Heiliger-Fonds der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und der Stiftung Kunstfonds. Sie wird von der Galerie Kuckei + Kuckei in Berlin vertreten.

Fiene Scharp, Artist Statement:

Meine Arbeit umfasst repetitive Langzeit-Zeichnungen sowie detailliert geschnittene Papierarbeiten und Bildobjekte, die ich im Kontext der Zeichnung sehe.

Die Feinstrukturen hängen ungerahmt, in leichter Bewegung an der Wand und heben sich nur durch graduelle Schattierungen vom Hintergrund ab.

Ich überführe zweidimensionale Rasterzeichnungen durch mikroskopisches Ausschneiden der Zwischenräume in den dreidimensionalen Raum.

Dabei geht es mir um die minimale Varianz in der Wiederholung.

PAPER ART AWARD
IN SILBER

ASTRID BUSCH

Astrid Busch (geb. 1968 in Krefeld) studierte an Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg und der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee, wo sie Meisterschülerin bei Prof. Katharina Grosse war. Sie nahm an zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen, u.a. in Deutschland, Frankreich, Russland, den USA und Brasilien teil. Ihre Werke sind in öffentlichen Sammlungen wie der Kunststiftung NRW, Düsseldorf; dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein und dem Technikmuseum, Berlin; dem Museum für Angewandte Kunst, Gera, der Artothek in Nürnberg.

Astrid Busch erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Stipendien.

Sie wird von der Galerie Rupert Pfab in Düsseldorf vertreten.

 

Astrid Busch verändert Räume in ihrer Gesamtheit, jedoch tut sie das auf eine sanfte und zurückgenommene Art vor. In ihren ortsspezifische Rauminstallationen vereint sie Fotografien mit vielerlei Materialien – von eigenen Aufnahmen bis hin zu Archivfunden. Alle diese Teile fügt sie als multimediale Inszenierungen zusammen und schafft so raumgreifende Arbeiten, die mosaikhaft wirken und dennoch immer ortsspezifisch bleiben.

Astrid_Busch_Foto_Emil_Zander_edited.jpg
ag_portrait_angela_02_edited.jpg

PAPER ART AWARD
IN BRONZE

ANGELA GLAJCAR

Angela Glajcar (geb. 1970 in Mainz) studierte Bildhauerei an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg und war Meisterschülerin bei Tim Scott. Von klassischen Werkstoffen wie Stahl und Holz hat sie sich bald gelöst. Ihre Arbeiten, die auf der Verwendung von weißen Papierbögen beruhen, sind ungewöhnlich und bizarr und in ihrem radikalen Purismus markant. (Margareta Sandhofer)

Sie erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und Auszeichnungen wie den Mainzer ZONTA Kunstpreis, den Emy-Roeder-Preis, den Phönix-Kunstpreis oder den Publikumspreis der Regionale im Wilhelm-Hack-Museum Ludwigshafen in 2010. Sie war mit Arbeiten in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen von Museen, Galerien und diversen Kunstorten in Deutschland, Italien, den USA und in Hong Kong zu sehen und hat mehrere Kunst am Bau Projekte realisiert. Angela Glajcar wird u.a. von der Galerie Nanna Preußners in Hamburg vertreten.

 

Angela Glajcar erschafft fließende Installationen aus gerissenen Papierbahnen, die durch Schichtungen und Wölbungen plastische Präsenz erlangen und sich mithilfe des einfallenden Lichts zu scheinbar aus sich selbst heraus leuchtenden Körpern entwickeln. Sie reißt mitten in die Bahnen Löcher, die im räumlichen Gefüge Durchblicke und Tiefenperspektiven ermöglichen, oder lässt die geradlinigen und sauberen Papierkanten großzügig ausfransen, um die innere Materialstruktur bloßzulegen. Das Wechselspielt aus Licht und Schatten verwandelt die Arbeiten in ein multidimensionales Werk mit atmosphärischer Wirkung. Gegensätze wie Leichtigkeit und Schwere, Ruhe und Dynamik, Schönheit und Zerstörung werden darin erfahrbar.

bottom of page